Back to current schedule

Journal Club Schedule: Spring 2009



In every meeting we will spend the first 10-15 minutes talking about new papers on the arXive that people found interesting (we would also like to hear about recent conferences that people attended). Then one member of the group will present a recent paper. The tentative schedule is as follows:

February


  • Wednesday, 18/2/2009, 11:00

    Tomek Lukowski will give the talk: "Twist operators in the AdS_5/CFT_4 correspondence"
  • Wednesday, 25/2/2009, 11:00

    Costas will talk about "Quantum Gravity at a Lifshitz point" by Horava, arxiv:0901.3775

March


  • Monday, 2/3/2009, 14:15

    (Note non-standard date and time)
    Jan Plefka (Humboldt U.) will discuss his recent paper (with J. Drummond and J. Henn): "Yangian symmetry of scattering amplitudes in N=4 super Yang-Mills theory", arXiv:0902.2987
  • Wednesday, 11/3/2009, 11:00

    Niels will talk about the AdS/non-relativistic correspondence
  • Wednesday, 25/3/2009, 11:00

    Rutger will talk about amplitudes, specifically Fourier transforms to twistor space (by Arkani-Hamed et al)

April


  • Wednesday, 1/4/2009, 11:00

    Emil will talk about amplitudes, specifically Fourier transforms to twistor space (by Arkani-Hamed et al)
  • Wednesday, 8/4/2009, 11:00

    No meeting: Easter Break
  • Wednesday, 15/4/2009, 11:00

    No meeting: Nordic Meeting the same week
  • Friday, 24/4/2009, 13:15 (Note non-standard date)

    Shinji will talk about the two recent Alday-Maldacena papers (0904.0663 and 0903.4707)
  • Wednesday, 29/4/2009, 11:00

    Shinji will continue discussing the Alday-Maldacena papers

May


  • Wednesday, 6/5/2009, 11:00

    Jay will talk about "On the geometry of the Emparan-Reall black rings", arxiv:0807.2309 by Chrusciel and Cortier
  • Wednesday, 13/5/2009, 11:00

    Jan will talk about "Non-perturbative, non-critical string field theory"
  • Wednesday, 20/5/2009, 11:00

    Andrzej will talk about Instantons and monopoles in ABJM
  • Wednesday, 27/5/2009, 11:00

    Holger will talk about Mathurs quantum black hole proposal

June


  • Wednesday, 3/6/2009, 11:00

    Andrzej will continue his talk on instantons and monopoles in ABJM theory (the 3-dimensional superconformal Chern-Simons theory of Aharony, Bergman, Jafferis and Maldacena).
  • Wednesday, 10/6/2009, 11:00

    Pawel will talk about fermionic T-duality
  • Wednesday, 17/6/2009, 11:15

    Kim will talk about stochastic quantization, finite chemical potential and the sign problem

Directions


The Journal Club takes place on Wednesdays in Fb-6 at 11:00


The Journal Club is organised by Troels Harmark

See also